Arizona Alzheimer’s Consortium Scientific Conference

Add to iCal Calendar 0

Date(s) - 11 Sep 2023
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

ASU Memorial Union

Arizona Alzheimer’s Consortium

2023 Annual Scientific Conference.

Monday, September 11, 2023

Arizona State University
Memorial Union
301 E Orange St
Tempe, AZ

Hosted by Mayo Clinic


Dr. Kristine Yaffe   

Dr. Kristine Yaffe attended Yale University for her undergraduate degree and the University of Pennsylvania for her medical degree. She then completed residencies in both Neurology and Psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Yaffe is the Scola Endowed Chair and Vice Chair, Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Epidemiology, and Director of the Center for Population Brain Health at the University of California, San Francisco. In her research, clinical work, and mentoring, she has directed her efforts towards improving the care of patients with Alzheimers and other dementias.

Dr. Yaffe is an internationally recognized expert in the epidemiology of dementia and cognitive aging. She serves as PI of almost a dozen NIH, Department of Defense, Veterans Administration, and foundation grants and is the foremost leader in identifying modifiable risk factors for dementia. Dr. Yaffe and her colleagues were the first to determine that potentially 30% of dementia risk is preventable. She pioneered early investigations on the roles of estrogen, physical activity, and cardiovascular factors in dementia risk, and more recently, her research group has led work on the connections between cognitive aging and traumatic brain injury, sleep disorders, and life course exposures. With almost 700 peer-reviewed articles dedicated to improving population brain health (H-index=162), her work has formed the cornerstone for dementia prevention trials worldwide. In recognition of these groundbreaking accomplishments. Dr. Yaffe has received several prestigious honors including the American Academy of Neurology’s Potamkin Prize for Alzheimer’s Research in 2017, election to the National Academy of Medicine in 2019, the NIH Robert S. Gordon, Jr. Award in Epidemiology in 2021, and the Department of Veterans Affairs John B. Barnwell Award for Achievement in Clinical Research in 2022.

Poster presentations
Data blitz presentations
Wrap-up session

Options for virtual (Zoom) tie-ins will be announced soon.

Register Here