AZBio Awards 2012


AZBio Supporters

Legacy Level

Arizona Commerce Authority

Chairman’s Level

Upstream Consulting

Leadership Level


CBS Outdoor


Northern Arizona University

Phoenix Business Journal

Gold Level

360 Vantage


Ernst & Young, LLP

New Angle Media

The Biodesign Institute at ASU

Silver Level

Affordable Image 

AZ Webcasting

BioInspire, Peoria

City of Maricopa

Flinn Foundation

Global Cancer Dx


IDM Technologies, Inc.

International Research Center


PADT Medical


Phoenix Public Radio for KJZZ/KBAQ

Polsinelli Shughart

Regenesis Biomedical, Inc.

Snell & Wilmer

SynCardia Systems, Inc.
Ventana Medical Systems

Copper Level


Alliant Insurance 
Brain State Technologies
Cassidy Turley – BRE Commercial 
Chandler Innovations
City of Phoenix
Medtronic Tempe Campus
Provista Diagnostics
The Luther Law Firm



To learn more about the benefits of supporting AZBio, click here.

Presented By:

AZBio Awards 2012Convening the Community – Recognizing Excellence

Rewarding Achievement – Celebrating Success

Moving Forward Faster!

Join us October 23, 2012 at the Phoenix Convention Center

for an inspirational celebration of the best of Arizona’s Bioscience Industry.

Showcase your company and show your support of Arizona’s fastest growing industry as we gather for the Cocktail Reception, Industry Showcase, and Student Discovery Session from 3 PM to 5:30 PM.

To thank  our community for a decade of leadership and support, the events from 3 PM ato 5:30 PM will be free and open to the public so they can meet our industry and see the innovations that have come from their investment in the biosciences from the classroom to the research lab to the marketplace.

Celebrate with your community and our industry’s leaders from 6:00 PM to 9:00  PM at the Gala Awards Dinner.

Registration is required for both components of the event.  Paid admission is required for the Awards Gala and Keynote presentation.

Dinner Ticket Member Rate – $200.00
Dinner Ticket Non-Member Rate – $300.00
Dinner Ticket Student Rate – $100.00
Company Showcase and Student Showcase ONLY Registration* – FREE, Open to the Public
*Please register if you are planning on attending the showcase. Dinner and drink tickets not included.

For Sponsor and Showcase Rates click here.

For pricing and to register, click here.

For Additional Information such as; parking and transit, attire, and cancellation information click here.

John D. Carroll, Editor of FierceBiotech to keynote at AZBio Awards Gala

John D. Carroll is a biotech analyst with 34 years of prize-winning experience in journalism. Appointed editor of FierceBiotech in 2003, he has covered virtually every aspect of the global drug development industry over the past decade. His work includes the popular Fierce 15, which recognizes the most innovative private companies in the business each year. His daily reports keep more than 100,000 subscribers around the world clued in to the latest developments on deals, data and industry trends. Carroll plans to address the biggest influences affecting the fast-changing biopharma industry and what it means to biotech executives in Arizona.  “Arizona is home to one of the fastest growing bioindustries in the U.S.” shared Joan Koerber-Walker, AZBio president and ceo. “We have a lot to celebrate and a lot to be thankful for. Most importantly, we need to stay focused on the road ahead if we are to continue to keep moving forward faster. Having John D. Carroll’s global view and industry insights to share with our community will help us do just that. I am looking forward to our community having a chance to meet and hear from John and for John to connect with our community too.”

 The 2012 Honorees are: 

  • Centennial Award – Senator Jon Kyl
  • Pioneer Awards – Dr. David S. Alberts of the University of Arizona Cancer Center and Dr. Raymond L. Woosley of AZ CERT
  • 2012 Bioscience Company of the Year Finalists :  Cord Blood Registry (Tucson), Brain State Technologies (Scottsdale), and Flagship Biosciences (Flagstaff & Phoenix)
  • 2012 Public Service Award – Regent Rick Myers 
  • 2012 Bioscience Researcher of the Year– Dr. Paul Keim, Northern Arizona University and TGen 
  • Michael A. Cusanovich Bioscience Educator of the Year – Dr. Jennifer Barton, University of Arizona 
  • Jon W. McGarity Bioscience Leader of the Year – Harry George, Solstice Capital 
  • Fast Lane Award Winners – Critical Path Institute (Tucson), Global Cancer Dx (Tempe), and Ulthera, Inc. (Mesa)

The Awards Ceremony Celebrates Arizona’s leading  Educators, Innovators and Companies.

Here is a look back at the 2011 AZBio Award Winners

Each year AZBio receives nominations from across the state of Arizona that illustrate the depth, breadth, and expertise of our bioscience industry. The 2011  finalists and award winners are all extraordinary.
From breakthrough technology and science to life changing innovations and stellar leadership, AZBio Award finalists and nominees exemplify what is best about the Arizona Bioscience Industry

 Click here to see the list of AZBio Award Winners from prior years

Celebrating 10 Years of Progress


Great events begin with our community working in partnership.

To learn how you can get involved as part of the 2012 AZBio Awards Planning Committee,

Contact Our Member Support Team


phone: 480-779-8101

About AZBio:

AZBio – The Arizona BioIndustry Association – is comprised of member organizations in business, research, government, and other professions involved in biosciences. AZBio supports the members of the Arizona bioscience community by providing access to the key resources, connections, and information that support their ability to Connect, Collaborate, Innovate and Succeed thus supporting the growth of a thriving economic ecosystem for Arizona’s Bioscience Industry.