AZBio Elects 2020 Officers and Welcomes New Board Members

The Arizona Bioindustry Association, Inc. (AZBio) Board of Directors has elected its 2021 officers and welcomes seven new board members in 2021. 

2021 AZBio Board Members

AZBio Officers (row 1, left to right): Kristen Swingle, Critical Path Institute; Brian Mower, Regenesis Biomedical; Jeff Singleton, EY, Jeff Vallerga, Avantor. AZBio’s newly elected Board Members (row 2): Kirby Consier, Novartis; David A. Dexter, Sonora Quest; Jerianne Gerloff, Pfizer Cathy Langham, Langham Logistics; Mary O’Reilly, PhD, Flinn Foundation; Steven Potts, PhD, OncoMyx Therapeutics; Craig Woods, DVM, Institute for Healthcare Innovation at Midwestern University

The AZBio Board of Directors work on behalf of Arizona’s Bioscience and Healthcare community to pursue the  organization’s vision of Arizona as a top tier bioscience sector. 

Since 2003, the Arizona Bioindustry Association (AZBio) has supported life science innovation and life science innovators in Arizona.  A key component in Arizona’s life science ecosystem, AZBio is the only statewide organization exclusively focused on Arizona’s bioscience industry.  AZBio membership includes patient advocacy organizations, life science innovators, educators, healthcare partners and leading business organizations. AZBio is the statewide affiliate of the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) and works in partnership with AdvaMed, MDMA, and PhRMA to advance innovation and to ensure that the value delivered from life-changing and life-saving innovation benefit people in Arizona and around the world.   

AZBio’s Executive Committee in 2021 includes:

  • Chairwoman – Kristen Swingle, Critical Path Institute
  • Vice Chair – Brian Mower, Regenesis Biomedical
  • Treasurer – Jeff Singleton, EY
  • Secretary – Jeff Vallerga, Avantor
  • Immediate Past Chair – Russ Yelton, Yelton  and Associates
  • William F. Mulholland, III, Snell & Wilmer
  • President & CEO – Joan Koerber-Walker

AZBio’s newly elected Board Members include:

  • Kirby Consier, Novartis
  • David A. Dexter, Sonora Quest 
  • Jerianne Gerloff, Pfizer
  • Cathy Langham, Langham Logistics
  • Mary O’Reilly, PhD, Flinn Foundation
  • Steven Potts, PhD, OncoMyx Therapeutics
  • Craig Woods, DVM, Institute for Healthcare Innovation at Midwestern University

AZBio Board Members continuing to serve in 2021 include:

  • Kiran Avancha, PhD, HonorHealth Research Institute
  • Mara Aspinall, Health Catalyst & Blue Stone Ventures
  • Joel Barthelemy, GlobalMed
  • Jennifer Barton, PhD, BIO5 Institute at The University of Arizona
  • Peter Bawin, CBR a California Cryobank Company
  • Jeff Buel Johnson & Johnson
  • Rick Buss, City of Peoria
  • MaryAnn Guerra, Aesthetics Biomedical
  • Jason Jardine, Knobbe Martens
  • Dan Kasprzyk, Symple Surgical and POBA Medical
  • Renae Moomjian, Acacia Consultants
  • Elliott Mufson, PhD, Dignity Health
  • Stephen Munk, PhD, Biodesign Institute at Arizona State University
  • Galen Perry, Translational Genomics Research Institute, an affiliate of City of Hope
  • Beth Sheppard, Roche Tissue Diagnostics
  • Stephanie Simpson, Sanofi US
  • Alex Tessmer, BD
  • Sandra Watson, Arizona Commerce Authority
  • Kyle Wesley, Medtronic Tempe Campus
  • Claudia Whitehead, City of Phoenix

To learn more about these leaders and their roles in our community, please visit the AZBio Board Page

Posted in AZBio News.