AZBio Members Win Big at the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation

Additive Implants, Avery Therapeutics, BD Peripheral Intervention, and the  Biodesign Institute at ASU, were  were honored as winners of  2020 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation (GCOI) Awards.  Awards to individuals were bestowed on  Fletcher J. McCusker, UAVenture Capital, and Dr. Betsy Cantwell, The University of Arizona.

“Technology and innovation are now more critical than ever for solving global challenges, strengthening communities and improving lives,” said Sandra Watson, president & CEO of the Arizona Commerce Authority. “This outstanding group of awardees demonstrates why Arizona continues to advance our globally-competitive position and increase our economic momentum. We’re proud to partner with the Arizona Technology Council to celebrate the impressive accomplishments of these innovators!”

Now in its 17th year, the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation recognizes excellence in  Arizona’s business, technology, education and government sectors. Due to COVID-19, the winners and finalists were honored in a virtual awards ceremony held Wednesday, November 4.

The winners in all categories are: 

Company Award Winners

• Innovator of the Year – Start-Up CompanyAdditive Implants, LLC, Phoenix

• Innovator of the Year – Small Company: Lunewave, Inc., Tucson

• Innovator of the Year – Large Company: Becton Dickinson Peripheral Intervention, Tempe

• Innovator of the Year – Academia: Arizona State University – Biodesign Institute, Tempe 

Individual/Company Award Winners

• AccountabilIT Lifetime Achievement Award: UAVenture Capital – Fletcher J. McCusker, Tucson

• MSS Business Transformational Leadership Award: The University of Arizona – Dr. Betsy Cantwell, Tucson

• Ed Denison Business Leader of the Year: CampusLogic – Gregg Scoresby, Chandler

• Judges Award: Avery Therapeutics, Inc., Tucson

Legislative Award Winners

• Senator of the Year: Sen. David Gowan, District 14

• Representative of the Year: Rep. Michelle Udall, District 25

Tech 10 Award Winners

• Sen. Karen Fann, District 1

• Sen. Sine Kerr, District 13

• Sen. Heather Carter, District 15

• Sen. Sean Bowie, District 18

• Sen. Lupe Contreras, District 19

• Rep. Daniel Hernandez, District 2

• Rep. Regina Cobb, District 5

• Rep. Jennifer Pawlik, District 17

• Rep. Jeff Weninger, District 17

• Rep. Ben Toma, District 22

Future Innovator Awards

• Saffeyya-Grace Ibrahim, Sonoran Science Academy, Tucson

• Viraj Mehta, BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale

• Dakota Finley, Wilcox High School, Willcox

• Abby Liu, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Future Innovator Honorable Mentions

• Sadie Smith, Tucson High Magnet School, Tucson

• Viveka Chinnasamy, Amy Wang and Shreya Tripathi, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Teacher of the Year Award: Rachna Nath, Arizona College Prep-Erie, Chandler

Teacher Honorable Mention: Alfred S. Santos, Harvest Preparatory Academy, Yuma

Winners and finalists were evaluated and chosen by a selection committee of experts independent of the Council who included:

• Chuck Vermillion, CEO, AccountabilIT

• Mark Dallmeier, chief sales/revenue officer, MSS Business Transformation Advisory

• Doug Hockstad, assistant vice president, Tech Launch Arizona, The University of Arizona

• James Goulka, chairman and managing director, Arizona Tech Investors

• Eric Miller, principal and co-founder, PADT, Inc.

• Mary O’Reilly, Ph.D., vice president, Bioscience Research Programs, Flinn Foundation

Congratulations to all the individuals and companies who contribute so much to growing our technology ecosystem,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council. “Arizona’s forward-thinking Legislature, along with our leading educators, STEM talent and technology community make our state a national force for innovation. We we’re thrilled to continue our annual tradition of honoring the GCOI winners during this outstanding virtual event.”

Posted in AZBio News.