AZBio Award 2012 Honorees


AZBio Supporters

Legacy Level

Arizona Commerce Authority

Willetta Partners

Chairman’s Level

IMS Health| 360 Vantage

Leadership Level



Flinn Foundation



New Angle Media

Northern Arizona University



The Biodesign Institute at Arizona State University

The University of Arizona



Media Partner

AZ Business Magazine

Gold Level

Affordable Image

ACTUS Biotechnologies

Alliance Bank of Arizona

Catalyst Biomedical


Global Cancer Dx


Jansen Biotech, Inc.

Medtronic Tempe Campus


SynCardia Systems, Inc.

Ventana Medical Systems, Inc., a member of the Roche Group.

Silver Level


International Research Center

Kasten Long Commercial

PADT Medical




To learn more about the benefits of supporting AZBio, click here.

Presented By:

Convening the Community – Recognizing Excellence –

Rewarding Achievement – Celebrating Success

These are the hallmarks of AZBio Award Winners.

 Each year AZBio receives nominations from across the state of Arizona that illustrate the depth, breadth, and expertise of our bioscience industry.

The 2011  finalists and award winners were all extraordinary. From breakthrough technology and science to life changing innovations and stellar leadership, AZBio Award finalists and nominees exemplify what is best about the Arizona Bioscience Industry  Click here to view the list of past award winners.


2012 Award Categories, Honorees and Finalists:

2012 AZBio Pioneer Award – Special recognition for lifetime achievements 

Dr. David S. AlbertsDr. David S. Alberts of the University of  Arizona Cancer Center and Dr. Raymond L. Woolsey of AZ CERT are to be honored at the 2012 AZBio Awards for achievements that have shaped our state and our industry.Dr. Raymond L. Woosley

Arizona is the land of the pioneers.  This year as we celebrate 100 years of statehood, AZBio is shining the spotlight on two pioneers who exemplify Arizona’s pioneer spirit and led in the creation of new discoveries and built up  institutions that will pioneer new innovations for decades to come. It is a great honor for us to be able to bestow the 2012 AZBio Pioneer Award on Dr David S. Alberts and Dr. Raymond L. Woosley.  The hallmark of a great pioneer is the ability to collaborate and build for the future by working with others to blaze new paths.  Both Dr. Alberts and Dr. Woolsey have demonstrated the success this can bring repeatedly through long and productive careers that have not only birthed innovations and built up organizations designed to foster future innovations; their work has saved countess lives.  To learn more about these amazing pioneers, click here.

Michael A. Cusanovich Bioscience Educator of the Year Award:

The educator who, as a member of the faculty or administration of an educational institution, demonstrated the greatest leadership, creativity and/or actions to inspire students and encourage them in the biosciences. (Cited contributions may extend over several years.)

2012 Award Winner:  Jennifer Kehlet Barton, Ph.D.  

Jennifer Kehlet Barton, Ph.D., Associate Vice President for Research and Professor, Biomedical Engineering at The University of Arizona has been named the 2012 Michael A. Cusanovich Bioscience Educator of the Year by the Arizona Bioindustry Association. Click here to learn more.

Public Service Award:

The person in Arizona who is currently serving or has served in a publicly-elected capacity at a city, county, state or federal level and has demonstrated leadership that has contributed most significantly to the enhancement of the business climate for bioscience companies in the state. (Cited contributions may extend over several years.)

2012 Award Winner:  Rick Myers, Chair of the Arizona Board of Regents

A  widely respected and tireless civic leader, Rick Myers is a visionary and a strong advocate for promoting the biosciences in Arizona. Rick serves as the Governor-appointed Chair for the Arizona Board of Regents and advocates for growing the research enterprise and promoting biosciences.  Read More…


Bioscience Researcher of the Year

The life science researcher in Arizona who has made the most significant contribution to the advancement of knowledge and the understanding of biological processes, as measured by publications and/or professional acknowledgement of their work in either an academic or commercial setting. (Cited contributions may extend over several years.)

2012 Award Winner:  Dr. Paul Keim

Arizona Regents’ Professor, Northern Arizona University, E. Raymond and Ruth Reed Cowden Endowed Chair in Microbiology, Founding Director of the Center for Microbial Genetics and Genomics (MGGen) at NAU. Dr. Keim is also a Senior Investigator and the Director of Pathogen Genomics at the Translational Genomics Research Institute (TGen), as well as a founder of Pathogene, LLC, a medical diagnostics company headquartered in Flagstaff. His efforts through TGen and Pathogene have contributed in a tangible way to economic development in Northern Arizona.

Jon W. McGarity Bioscience Leadership Award:

The person in Arizona who provided the most outstanding leadership that contributed significantly to development of the State’s bioindustry and/or recognition of the advancement of bioscience in Arizona.

2012 Award Winner:  Harry George

Harry George has been called a practical visionary. And he leads. He has over 40 years of experience in creating and operating rapid-growth technology companies. He co-founded Solstice Capital in 1995. Solstice is a venture capital fund whose investments and guidance include early-stage life science companies. And he is among the founders of Tucson’s Desert Angels. Mr. George mentors these start-ups, recognizing they are the core of Arizona’s economic engine. He has helped launch 60 companies.

AZBio Fast Lane:

The select few companies that have achieved outstanding milestones in the past 18 months.  Significant progress can be measured by clinical results, regulatory approvals, certifications, collaborations, funding awards, product launches, job growth or product sales milestones.  This category is open to ALL AZBio Member Companies and nominations must reflect both the actions taken by Arizona based employees and the results those actions created toward the milestones.

2012 Fast Lane Award Winners  (Read the full release)


Bioscience Company of the Year Award:

The for-profit bioscience company whose Arizona-based operations did the most to transform the world during the last 12 months.

2012 Finalists  (Read the full release)

  click to learn more about CBR 


About AZBio:

AZBio – The Arizona BioIndustry Association – is comprised of member organizations in business, research, government, and other professions involved in biosciences. AZBio supports the members of the Arizona bioscience community by providing access to the key resources, connections, and information that support their ability to Connect, Collaborate, Innovate and Succeed thus supporting the growth of a thriving economic ecosystem for Arizona’s Bioscience Industry.